Terrapin Moo-Hoo Chocolate Milk Stout (seasonal 2013)

wpid-IMG_20131230_182029.jpgTonight I will review Terrapin’s Moo-Hoo Chocolate Milk Stout. I didn’t taste much beyond Guinness-esque flavor on the first sip, but it became pleasantly chocolaty on the second sip.  The chocolate flavor fizzles across your tongue as an aftertaste.  It’s a nice dark beer with a dark chocolate-tinted head when poured.  According to the bottle, it’s a limited seasonal release, so you should get it while you can.  It’s not as heavy as some of the other stout’s we’ve tried, but it’s still nice.  The chocolate flavor lasts throughout the bottle, and is more dark-chocolate than milk chocolate.  I recently tried a really good dark chocolate coconut coffee that this beer’s chocolate flavor reminds me of – it’s not overwhelming, but strong enough to know what it is supposed to be for the duration of the drink.  I wish it were not seasonal, as this could easily become a favorite beer (can you tell I have a thing for desserts?).  It’s supposed to be a creamy beer, but I have trouble categorizing it as that.  It’s more “watery” than creamy, but I have no issue with that.  For me, creamy would imply a “thicker” flavor and this one doesn’t fit that bill. It’s not a bad thing, just not how I would describe it.

It boasts a modest 6.1% alcohol by volume in a standard 12oz bottle.  Brewed and bottled by Terrapin Beer Company, Athens, GA.  The bottle claims it’s a “flavored malt beverage”, but I would still categorize it as a beer since I’m not totally sure what differentiates a stout as a “malt beverage” vs. a beer.  It’s sold in 4- and 6-packs at an average price.  The site suggests serving it at a “warmer” 50-55 degrees.  I would say it pairs well with stews or heavier meals as well as cheesecake and other yummy desserts – versatile and pleasant either paired or alone.  I hope they repeat this brew again next year.

On a happy note:  the chocolate taste lasts on your taste buds even after you finish the bottle.  It’s quite nice.

What do you think?